Opening Night of The Waiting Room

Opening night of Morris Panych’s The Waiting Room celebrated many of Canadian theatre’s finest artists. With music and lyrics from Spirit of the West’s John Mann, set and costume designs by Ken MacDonald, and a multi-talented cast and creative team, audiences leapt to their feet in a standing ovation to applaud this phenomenal work. Guests and fans joined us in the lobby to toast another world premiere at the Granville Island Stage. Click HERE for the full photo album. All photos by Mark Halliday.

The Waiting Room is now playing until October 31. Tickets start from $29 at artsclub.com!


Dynamic duo John Mann and Jill Daum (Mom’s the Word)


A beautifully bespeckled family: Wendy Gorling, David Cooper, and Emily Cooper.


The Waiting Room‘s Chris Cochrane (L) hams it up with longtime friend Luc Roderique  (In the Heights, She Stoops to Conquer).


The Waiting Room‘s Peter Anderson proudly wearing John Mann’s CD t-shirt


Frontmen of The Waiting Room: Jonathon Young and John Mann.


Morris Panych, Matreya Scarrwener, Jonathon Young, and Ken MacDonald.

Posted in General

An inside look at THE WAITING ROOM

The Waiting Room is now playing until October 31 at the Granville Island Stage. This highly anticipated premiere is the result of a four-year collaboration between Spirit of the West’s John Mann and acclaimed Canadian playwright Morris Panych. Follow the excitement with these behind-the-scenes features in the local media.

It’s about the embracing of life, the enjoyment and love of life—and how meaningful it is within its very tight parameters. It’s about finding joy and happiness within that short span” —Morris Panych in The Globe and Mail

“You buy a ticket to go see The Waiting Room, and you basically get a live concert from John Mann and his band, and a play by Morris Panych
—actor Jonathon Young in The Vancouver Sun

The Waiting Room is a tale of survival, not sadness” —Dana Gee, The Province

Penned sometimes right from Mann’s hospital bed, songs like ‘Angry Sore’ and ‘These Are the Instructions’ capture the anger and contemplation of the unknown, with Panych filling in the play’s timeline with his trademark dark humour”
—Kelsey Klassen, Westender

Humour in the face of tragedy is a common coping mechanism, and audiences can expect to see a lot of it throughout The Waiting Room” —Zoe Grams, 24 hours Vancouver

Tickets to The Waiting Room start at just $29 and are available online or at 604.687.1644

Posted in 2015-2016 Season, General, Interviews, News and Reviews, The Waiting Room Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , |

The reviews are in for DISGRACED

Critics are still digesting the “meaty and provocative” Disgracednow playing until October 18 at the Stanley Industrial Alliance Stage. Here’s just a taste of what they had to say about this Pulitzer Prize–winning drama.

“It’s difficult even to write about these characters without distilling them to oversimplified identity markers—Muslim, Jewish, African American, White—but isn’t that what happens every day? It’s a question that will stay with you long after the 80-minute running time”
—Erika Thorkelson, The Vancouver Sun

Intelligent and engrossingDisgraced is a full-course meal and a terrific season opener for the Arts Club. I’m still chewing it over”
—Jo Ledingham, The Vancouver Courier

Arts Club’s Disgraced engages” —Colin Thomas, The Georgia Straight

Disgraced is an excellent work of art. Peel back the layers and you just might find yourself revealing something about you” —Daniel Chai, Vancity Buzz

“Smart and relevant … refreshingly accessible” —Mark Robins, Vancouver Presents


Tickets to Disgraced start at just $29 and are available online or by calling 604.687.1644

Posted in 2015-2016 Season, Disgraced, General, News and Reviews Tagged , , , , , , |